CMFA (Committee on Minority Faculty Advancement)

Committee on Minority Faculty Advancement (CMFA)

The purpose of CMFA is to address the professional developmental need of faculty from underrepresented groups in medicine and biomedical sciences (URMGMBS) by facilitating the dissemination of knowledge, skills and resources necessary to achieve successful careers in academic medicine. In addition, this committee will assist the School of Medicine in highlighting the unique needs of URM faculty to aid in the recruitment and retention of URMGMBS faculty, which will increase the diversity of the medical school faculty body. CMFA collaborates with CEDI to achieve its mission.

The Minority Faculty Mentoring Award highlights the achievements of senior faculty in mentoring under-represented faculty, and is supported by the Office of the Dean, the Center for Health Equity Diversity and Inclusion (CEDI) and the Committee on Minority Faculty Advancement (CMFA).
Prior award recipients include:

Leslie R. Walker, MD 2014
Frederick P. Rivara, MD, MPH 2015
F. Bruder Stapleton, MD 2016
Byron Joyner, MD, MPA 2017

CMFA_Minority Faculty Mentoring Award

AAMC Conferences

National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity

CMFA Chair: Johnnie Orozco, MD, PhD

CEDI Contact: Nora Coronado